Sourdough Chapter 49 – Anchorage and South Central Alaska

The International Right of Way Association welcomes applicants to apply for a Right of Way Scholarship

Education and Events

WedApr15

Membership Meeting and Luncheon

April 15, 2020

WedApr22

SR/WA Study Session

April 22, 2020

FriMay01

20/20 Vision Scholarship

May 1, 2020

The International Right of Way Association welcomes applicants to apply for a Right of Way Scholarship. Applicants must be an IRWA member in good standing for at least one year and must be committed to achieving the RWA and/or RWP credential. Scholarship funding can only be used towards the registration fee for eligible courses. Courses must be completed by June 30, 2023. Previous 40 for 40 Scholarship winners are not eligible. The RWIEF will fund the scholarship program for three years and provide up to $92,500.

Applications may be submitted to the IRWA website beginning January 15, 2020. The deadline for the application is May 1, 2020. Grantees will be notified by June 1, 2020 and the award will begin on July 1, 2020.

2020 Vision Scholarship RWIEF

MonMay18

700 Introduction to Property & Asset Management

May 18, 2020

This course addresses all major aspects of property and asset management. Participants will learn how to establish a cost- effective management plan that increases profitability, conserves resources and reduces risk exposure for properties managed.

May 18-19, 2020 – Anchorage, AK

Brochure – 700

Topics:

  • Establish, classify, and maintain a property inventory
  • Develop simplified management policies andprocedures
  • Identify and evaluate risks, hazards and liabilities
  • Establish ownership monitoring schedules to controlencroachments and other unauthorized uses
  • Decide if property should be leased, sold or held
  • Recognize advantages and pitfalls of joint useagreements
  • Effectively repair and maintain improved properties
  • Profitably dispose of excess lands or property rights
WedMay20

Membership Meeting and Luncheon

May 20, 2020

WedMay20

703 Real Property Asset Management

May 20, 2020

This intensive course is designed to teach participants the necessary skills and knowledge to introduce and implement an asset management program within an organization. Asset management is the comprehensively planned management of a diverse portfolio of real estate for the optimum use of available assets. Participants will explore the comprehensively planned management of a diverse portfolio of real estate for the optimum use of available assets.

Brochure – 703

May 20, 2020

Course Level: Intermediate

Topics:

  • Definition of asset management
  • Aspects, considerations and goals of assetmanagement
  • Prerequisites of successful asset management
  • Identifying need for asset management
  • Establishing an asset management program
  • Steps and team formation
  • Implementation of asset management programs
  • Strategies and computer assistance options
WedAug19

Membership Meeting and Luncheon

August 19, 2020

WedSep16

Membership Meeting and Luncheon

September 16, 2020

WedOct21

Membership Meeting and Luncheon

October 21, 2020

WedNov18

Membership Meeting and Luncheon

November 18, 2020

Current Officers and Committee Chairs

President & International Director Kathryn Schreckenghost, SR/WA
kschreckenghost@epsinc.com 646-5169

International Director Danika Simpson danika.simpson@alaska.gov 269-0687

Vice-President Sterling Lopez sterling.lopez@alaska.gov 269-0698

Treasurer Claire Mueller, SR/WA cmueller@dowl.com 562-2000

Secretary Mychael Alfaro, SR/WA mychael.alfaro@alaska.gov

Education Co-Chair Brittany Nuxall Brittany.Nuxall@alaska.gov 269-0348

Education Co-Chair Deanna Kilburn, SR/WA dkilburn@dowl.com, 562-2000

Communications & Outreach Chair Paula Brault, SR/WA paula.brault@hdrinc.com, 644-2111

Nominations & Elections – Tom Kretzschmar
thomas.kretzschmar@hdrinc.com, 644-2029

Professional Development – Fred Mortimer, AICP, SR/WA
fmortimer@epsinc.com, 646-5128

Professional Development Vice Chair
Bonnie Bailey, SR/WA
bbailey@ak.net, 696-2163

Membership Chair
Karen Keesecker, SR/WA
karen_keesecker@chugachelectric.com, 762-4726

Website Manager
Timothy A. Trawver, SR/WA tim@1ak.org 346-2019

Immediate Past President Danika Simpson danika.simpson@alaska.gov 269-0687

Picnic/Winter Party Coordinator Steve Schmitt, PLS, SR/WA schmittsg@muni.org 343-8366

Programs Chair Timothy Mullikin tmullikin@epsinc.com

Historian
Alan C. Trawver, SR/WA tls@gci.net 346-2433

HISTORICAL ARCHIVE